Blizzard Entertainment created or owned several video game classics from the past couple of decades. These include the Warcraft, StarCraft, and the Diablo series.
One important group of products is Blizzard’s subscription-based games. Instead of purchasing a license for the game outright, you pay a monthly fee to play online.
Perhaps you’re losing interest in the games or want to free up some gaming time for other pursuits.
Besides this, there are many fans of Hearthstone, Overwatch, and World of Warcraft (WoW) account holders who wanted to delete Blizzard accounts in protest when Blitzchung was suspended from Hearthstone. (Learn What Should My Latency Be)
Even though the Hearthstone antics were resolved, many still decided to close their battle.net account.
It wasn’t so easy at one stage, and you needed to submit a government ID and much more hoop-jumping.
Now, even with a simpler process, it can still be awkward, so here, you can learn how to get rid of Blizzard games and permanently delete your account from Blizzard Entertainment and get back all your personal information.
How Do I Unsubscribe from Blizzard?
Deleting a Blizzard account is no longer a challenge as it used to be. Just follow the steps here:
- Log into your Blizzard account online using any browser.
- Click on Proceed
- As you do this, you’ll send Blizzard a request for them to delete your account, which can take up to 30 days to be processed.
- Blizzard may ask for account verification. You have several ways, but the best is a government-issued photo ID.
- Confirm verification using the Blizzard mobile app, SMS, or email address option
- Finally, you can enter any concerns with Blizzard and inform them why you want to delete your account.
It is advisable to complete this step, so the company understands why they are losing so many customers.
What Happens Later?
Once you proceed with a deletion request, you can’t turn back if you change your mind. Here you can see what goes on once you start to delete your account:
- Your personal information is removed from Blizzard’s database and will comprise security info, contact information, name, and credit card as well as other personal information you entered.
- You lose all your Blizzard games, in-game items, any promo code and others.
- If there were any money remaining in your Blizzard Balance, you would lose this as well.
- Game accounts are lost and any progress you made through any of the Blizzard games you were playing through.
- Finally, with your Blizzard Balance, you’ll lose all purchase history, and no longer can you contact Blizzard Customer Support through your account.
- The Blizzard company takes a strong stand about account deletion, so make sure you understand you will lose everything from your Blizzard account.
- The entire process can take 30-days, and once you reach this, it’s permanent.
- If you get a change of heart while waiting for your request to be acted upon, write to Blizzard support right away and tell them to disregard your request.
- We recommend not even filing the request if you are not 100% sure that you won’t miss your account in the future.
How Do I Cancel My Battlenet Account?
Deleting a Battle.net account isn’t nearly as easy one would expect.
Many digital services let users go through a few questions and pass through a menu or two then click ‘Yes’ to permanently delete an account. (Learn How to Fake GPS on Pokemon)
Blizzard’s process is long-winded in comparison.
Starting is easy, and you can do this checking several boxes. Their later steps are where it is more of a challenge.
- Log into your account on the Battle.net website.
- Head to this page (https://us.battle.net/support/en/help/wf/services/1328/1361)
- Check the “I understand” box then click proceed.
- You might need to provide scans of your government-issued IDs; please give them if it asks for them as it makes things easier.
- Blizzard requires needs you to submit scans to cancel accounts as to thwart off attempts of hackers., or so they say.
You need to hand over more personal information, so you can delete your other personal information, and causes concern among users.
Social media services such as Facebook let users deactivate an account and re-enable it if they change their minds.
Once you start the process of how to uninstall Blizzard games for good and delete a Battle.net account purges user information from the servers.
Does Blizzard Delete Inactive Accounts?
You can see the most common reason for people to delete their Battle.net account is to remove personal information from Blizzard’s database.
Several gaming companies have suffered significant data leaks of things such as passwords and personal information that has been harvested by hackers.
Deleting a Battle.net account lets those no longer interested in playing Blizzard games to keep information safe.
There are still users deleting Battle.net accounts in protest, and there are supposed layoffs in the company. Also, fans of games are tired of waiting and supposed lack of development of Warcraft 3: Reforged.
The question is whether Blizzard will remove inactive accounts or do you need to delete them to safeguard your privacy?
Blizzard, according to people in forums doesn’t delete inactive accounts unless they are empty. Classic Battle.net accounts can be deleted through inactivity.
Whatever way you do it, you are best to safeguard your identity and minimize risks where possible.
Using a VPN helps to reduce the risk of hackers finding a route back to your system, from any information they could find on Blizzard servers. (Find the Best VPN for New Zealand)
Another thing with using a VPN is connecting to WOW servers on the other side of the world and adding a new dimension to your gaming.
You can test a premium gaming VPN using their 30 days money-back guarantee. You can play your heart out and decide if you wanted it deleted with your Blizzard account or not.